Austin Peay State University Faculty Senate

Tentative (Unapproved) Minutes Meeting of Thursday, May 4, 2006 Sundquist Auditorium, SSC E-106

Preliminary Information

The meeting was called to order at 2:00 p.m. by Senate President Dr. John Foote. The roll call of senators was conducted by Senate Secretary Silverberg. Senators Black, Dyer, Eaves, Franks, Gillom, Griffy, Hargrove, Hatch, Lane, Prescott, and Schlanger were absent.

Dr. Foote asked that the meeting's agenda be amended to include material regarding Policies 7:002 and 7:007. The amendment to the agenda and the agenda were unanimously approved.

Minutes for the meeting of April 6, 2006 were unanimously approved.

Business

New Business included consideration of **changes to Policy 7:002** (**regarding grant procedures**). The changes proposed will exempt applicants for small grants of \$1,000.00 or less from the preliminary grants approval form and procedure. These grants will require two signatures: that of the department chair and the director of Grants and Sponsored Programs. The Senate unanimously approved these changes to policy.

Dr. Foote made note of the fact that Policy 7:007 provides for a **Misconduct in Research and Creative Activities Inquiry Committee** (a university standing committee). Uma Iyer was on committee, but as she is not tenured and policy requires this, she must be replaced. The Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate recommended that Professor LuAnnette Butler fill this position.

Dr. Foote asked for the **report of the nominating committee regarding the selection of the Senate Executive Committee for 2006-2007**. Senator Goldstone gave the report; other members of the committee included Senators Christian, Kenney, and Rayburn. The slate of nominees was as follows:

Senator John Foote (currently President), for President Timothy Winters, for Vice President Senator Patrick Perdew, for Secretary Faye Zeigler, for Representative to the Academic Council Senator John Blake, for Executive Committee Member at Large Elaine Berg, for Representative to the Deans Council Note: Senator Loretta Griffy will continue as Representative to the TBR Academic Subcouncil; she was elected to this office for a two-year term last year.

Senator Robison moved to close nominations, and the motion was seconded and approved. **The slate of Executive Committee members was thus elected**.

Dr. Foote made an announcement regarding analyses of **post-retirement pay for faculty**. Finance and Administration will examine the post-retirement pay of three typical retired faculty and see how much they cost versus hiring a new person to teach these courses. Dr. Foote has one of these analyses and is waiting for more examples. Senator Robison asked why Austin Peay provides only two years of post-retirement available while other institutions have three or four years. Dr. Foote responded that there may be some positive change in the future; the state has raised post-retirement maximum pay to sixty percent of salary. In carrying out the analyses, it may be found that when benefits, retirement, etc. are taken into consideration, post-retirement positions are often money-makers for the university. In other cases, an Associate Professor with several years' experience could be hired for the same cost as funding post-retirement pay. Senator Robison asked if post-retirement positions have been offered to all retiring faculty. Dr. Foote responded that the program was designed to retain faculty in critical areas; there is a point of disagreement here. Post-retirement positions will possibly not be offered to everyone.

The question of summer Senate meetings was raised. No summer meetings of the Senate are scheduled; thus any meeting would be a called meeting, which would require heavy attendance: fifty percent of the senators must attend for a called meeting to carry out business.

Dr. Foote announced that **several Senate seats are currently unfilled**: there were five seats open in five areas, but only three candidates ran for election; in another six areas, there were three open seats, but only one nominee. Ramon Magrans is not participating this term due to health problems, and Lisa Vanarsdel has resigned (note: the terms of both of these senators is expiring in spring 2006.)

Dr. Foote welcomed the new senators and announced that the **Faculty Senate will meet at 2:30 p.m. on the fourth Thursday of the month in academic 2006-07**, with the exception of November. There is usually no December senate meeting. Senator Hogan noted that colleagues should be told of the senate meeting time in order to arrange class schedules allowing senators to attend Faculty Senate meetings.

Adjournment was moved and unanimously approved at 2:22 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ann L. Silverberg Faculty Senate Secretary