Intellectual Property and Commercialization Committee

Membership: (to include individuals with experience in intellectual property matters): 2 staff members, at least 4 faculty members (representing diverse disciplines) 3 ex officio members (executive director of research and sponsored programs, university attorney, and member from information technology. Members will serve a three-year term and can serve two consecutive terms. When consecutive terms have been served, a three-year break must occur before serving again.

Description: The purpose of this committee is to serve the intellectual property (IP) interests of APSU, its personnel (either full-time, part-time, or temporary employees), its enrolled students, and any other persons using APSU facilities and resources. To fulfill this purpose, the committee will evaluate and/or research information and statements submitted to the committee by employees to determine if the IP was either derived from work supported by or through the institution or involved a significant use of the institution's resources. The committee submits to the President its recommendation relative to:

- 1. the ownership of the intellectual property,
- 2. the need to seek protection (including patent and copyright),
- 3. the distribution and assignment of royalties,
- 4. the acceptance of related third-party agreements,
- 5. commercialization of the intellectual property, and any deviation of APSU Policy 2:047 as appropriate to the situation or circumstances surrounding the intellectual property.

THIS COMMITTEE IS TEMPORARILY SUSPENDED

(Approver: Provost/SVPAA)

2020-2021 Membership:

Name	Area	Department	Service Term
Chad Brooks, Chair	Director, Research and	CoGS	Ex officio
	Sponsored Programs		
Costin Shamble	University Attorney	Legal Affairs	Ex officio
Austin Siders	Director of Enterprise	Information Technology	Ex officio
	Application and Solutions		
Ajay Thompson	Staff Representative	Student Success	2021-2024
JJ White	Staff Representative	Biology	2021-2024
Ellen Smyth	Faculty, CoSTEM	Mathematics	2018-2021
Darren Michael	Faculty, CoAL	Theatre and Dance	2018-2021
Charmaine Lowe	Faculty, CoE	Education	2018-2021
Thomas O'Connor	Faculty, CoBHS	Criminal Justice	2019-2020
Hassan A. Said	Faculty, CoB	Accounting, Finance and Economics	2019-2022