## **General Education Committee**

**Membership:** All members of the committee will be appointed by the provost in consultation with the Provost's Council and faculty senate president. Members will serve 3 year terms and can serve two consecutive terms. When consecutive terms have been served, a three-year break must occur before serving again.

Membership includes 4 faculty from the college of arts and letters, two of whom must be from written and oral communication disciplines; 2 faculty from the college of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics, ensuring that one faculty member will be from the math department; 2 faculty from the college of behavioral and health sciences; 1 faculty from college of business; 1 faculty from the college of education. The committee is led by 2 co-chairs drawn from faculty members on the committee and recommended by the Provost. 1 dean from one of the academic colleges will serve as ex-officio. 2 non-voting committee advisors-Vice Provost/Associate VP Academic Affairs and Director of Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment.

**Description:** The committee will have responsibility for ensuring that critical competencies (written communication, oral communication, math skills, and critical thinking skills) are evaluated. The committee will also address development of APSU's student learning outcomes. IN addition, the committee will review and vote on all changes and additions to the university core courses and will advise the University Curriculum Committee for their final decision. An annual report will be provided to the provost regarding progress in meeting goals to instill in students the four critical competencies.

## (Approver: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs)

Name	Area	Department	Service Term
Karen Meisch	Dean, Past Chair	CoSTEM	Ex officio
Kakali Chakrabarti	Faculty, CoAL	Communication – Oral Discipline	2020-2023
Audrey Bullock	Faculty, CoSTEM, Co- chair	Mathematics	2018-2021
Gilbert Pitts	Faculty, CoSTEM	Biology	2020-2023
Mercy Cannon	Faculty, CoAL	Languages and Literature – Written Disciplines	2018-2021
Christina Chester-Fangman	Faculty, Library	Research and Instruction	2020-2023
Lesley Davidson	Faculty, CoB	Accounting, Finance, and Economics	2018-2021
Dzavid Dzanic	Faculty, CoAL	History and Philosophy	2018-2021
James Prescott	Faculty at FC, CoBHS	Criminal Justice	2019-2022
Anthony Sanders	Faculty, CoE	Education Specialties	2019-2022
Kristen Sienkiewicz	Faculty, CoAL, Co-Chair	Music	2019-2022
David Steele	Faculty, CoBHS	Sociology	2019-2022
Amanda Wornhoff	Committee Advisor	Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment	Ex officio
Lynne Crosby	Committee Advisor	Vice Provost and Associate VP for Academic Affairs	Ex officio

## 2020-2021 Membership: