Standing Committee Annual Report

Name of Committee or Council:		Faculty Honors & Awards	
Chair:	Jennifer D. Thayer		
Meeting Dates in Current Year:		12/6/2022, 2/2/2023	

Major Actions or Accomplishments:

• Faculty Honors and Awards Committee Members:

Jennifer Thayer, Faculty Representative, CoB, Chair Margaret Rennerfeldt, Faculty Representative, CoAL

Kristy Cunnigham, Faculty Representative, Library

Kathryn Woods, Faculty Representative, CoBHS

Allyn Smith, Faculty Representative, CoSTEM

Cheryl Lambert, Faculty Representative, CoE

Robyn Hulsart, Faculty Representative, CoBHS

Tucker Brown, Senior Vice Provost/Associate Vice President Academic Affairs, ex officio

Debbie Shearon, Assistant to the Provost, ex officio

Lisa Phelps, Administrative Assistant Academic Affairs, ex officio

Greg Singleton, Associate Vice President/Dean of Students, ex officio

• Actions for 2022-2023:

- Discussed and approved expanding the Socrates Award from three to one for each College so a total of 5 recipients will be selected
- Established the Tenured Teaching Award for one recipient to receive each year
 - Discussed name and believe it should possibly be named for a notable contributor in teaching to APSU, in the fall would like to poll the faculty for possible names of who to name the award after
- Facilitated the selection and awarding of the four main faculty awards and the newly established Tenured Teaching Awards:
 - Richard M. Hawkins Nominees and Award Winner
 - Dr. Penelope Shumate, CoAL
 - Dr. Tamara Smithers, CoAL
 - Dr. Minoa Uffelman, CoAL
 - Dr. Amy Wright, CoAL
 - Dr. Frank Ferdik, CoBHS
 - Dr. Emily Pica, CoBHS
 - Dr. Misty Ring-Ramirez, CoBHS
 - Dr. Rebecca Johansen, CoSTEM winner

- Socrates Award Winners
 - Dr. Michael Chandler CoAL
 - Dr. Brandon Di Paolo Harrison CoB
 - Dr. Leslie Binford CoBHS
 - Dr. Donna Short CoE
 - Dr. Erik Haroldson CoSTEM
- Chamber of Commerce Award for Community Service Nominees & Winner
 - Dr. Osvaldo Di Paolo Harrison, CoAL
 - Dr. Michelle Rogers, CoSTEM winner
 - Dr. Andy Wilson, CoSTEM
- APSU Alumni Association Distinguished Professor Award Nominees & Winner
 - Dr. Tamara Smithers, CoAL winner
 - Dr. John Volker, CoB
 - Dr. Kevin Harris, CoBHS
 - Dr. Michael Phillips, SGA nominee