Austin Peay State University Faculty Senate Meeting of Thursday, May 3, 2018 Morgan University Center, Rm # 307 | 3:00 pm Minutes

Call to order - Senate President Mickey Wadia

Recognition of Guests: Elaine Berg, Benita Bruster, Christina Chester-Fangman, Doris Davenport, Mary Fran Davis, Donna Dey, Taylor Emory, Barry Jones, Leong Lee, Betty Leimer, Rod Mills, Bruce Myers, Adriane Sanders, and John Volker

Roll call of Senators - Senate Secretary Gina Garber

Absent: Christopher Bailey, Lisa Barron, Trevor Brooks, Nicholas Coleman, William Longhurst, Justin Oelgoetz, Barbara Peterson, Neil Rayburn, Robin Reed, Philip Short, David Snyder, Jennifer Thompson, and Kathryn Woods

Approval of today's agenda – Motion made, seconded, and passed

Approval of minutes from April 26, 2018 – Motion made, seconded, and passed to approve meeting minutes from April 26, 2018

Remarks

Senate President Mickey Wadia (10 minutes)

- <u>Standing Committees Update</u>: Margaret Rennerfeldt is working with the President and Provost to update the number of Standing Committees. We want to provide opportunities for faculty who want to serve (and who have not yet had a chance to serve) on university committees.
- Retirees: Rex Ameigh, Ann Assad, Kell Black, Rebecca Glass, Kay Haralson, Bruce Myers, Steven Ryan, and Lauren Wells. Senate President Wadia verbally acknowledged and thanked those who were retiring this year for their service to APSU. The Senators present applauded for the entire group of faculty who were retiring.
- Welcome to incoming Senators/Thank you to outgoing Senators: Senate President Wadia verbally acknowledged our outgoing and incoming Senators. His remarks included what a privilege it is to serve the university and to continue the shared governance that we have at APSU.

Old Business

• Election of Senate Officers for 2018-2019 – Senate Past President Tucker Brown (5 minutes) Past President Brown thanked the Nomination Committee Elaine Berg and Margaret Rennerfeldt for working with him on the 2018-2019 slate of nominees. The slate is as follows:

Position	Name	Constituted Area
President	Mickey Wadia	Humanities
Vice President	Jane Semler	Natural Sciences
Secretary	Gina Garber	Education
Member at Large	Phyllis Camilleri	Natural Sciences
Rep to TBR Sub-Council	Sergei Markov	Natural Sciences

- Floor opened for nominations:
 - o No nominations from the floor
- After voting, the Executive Committee for 2018-2019 will be:

Position	Name	Constituted Area
President	Mickey Wadia	Humanities
Vice President	Jane Semler	Natural Sciences
Secretary	Gina Garber	Education
Member at Large	Phyllis Camilleri	Natural Sciences
Rep to TBR Sub-Council	Sergei Markov	Natural Sciences
Rep to Curriculum Committee	Christopher Bailey	Humanities
Immediate Past President (ex-officio)	Tucker Brown	Social Sciences
Parliamentarian	Elaine Berg	Education
APSU Board of Trustees (ex-officio)	Nell Rayburn	Natural Sciences

New Business

- Appreciation for the outgoing Executive Committee:
 - o Marsha Lyle-Gonga, Parliamentarian
 - o Sergei Markov, Member at Large
 - o Benita Bruster, Representative to TBR Sub-council
 - o Gina Garber, Secretary
 - o Vice President, Jane Semler
 - o Immediate Past President, Tucker Brown
 - o Barry Jones, President (fall semester)
 - Mickey Wadia, President (spring semester)
- Newly-elected President Wadia entertained a motion to suspend summer meetings of the faculty senate and reconvene in August; the motion was seconded and passed

Adjournment 3:50 pm