Athletic Committee

Membership: 6 Faculty, 3 Administrative/Professional staff outside athletics, 2 ex officio (director of athletics and senior woman administrator in athletics), Director of Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action, 4 students recommended by the Director of Athletic Academic Services, Faculty Athletics Representative.

Description: The committee will regularly review issues associated with the welfare of student athletes participating in intercollegiate athletics in OVC and NCAA sports to ensure that the University and the Athletics Department maintain the proper balance between participation in athletics and academic achievement. The committee will prepare an annual report and other reports as needed, advising the president and the faculty senate of the athletic department's performance with respect to its academic and athletic goals and with respect to the welfare of the student-athletes participating in OVC and NCAA sports. The committee will communicate the concerns of student-athletes participating in intercollegiate athletics to the faculty senate and the university community, including the athletics department, the university administration, academic departments, the faculty as a whole, and other groups as warranted.

(Approver: Vice President for External Affairs)

NCAA Division I Manual 6.1.2.1 Composition. Administration and/or faculty staff members shall constitute at least a majority of the board in control of athletics or an athletics advisory board, irrespective of the president or chancellor's responsibility and authority or whether the athletics department is financed in whole or in part by student fees. If the board has a parliamentary requirement necessitating more than a simple majority in order to transact some or all of its business, then the administrative and faculty members shall be of sufficient number to constitute at least that majority. (Revised: 3/8/06).

2020-2021 Membership:

Name	Area	Department	Service Term
Cindy Taylor, Chair	Faculty, Athletic Representative	Biology	Ex officio
Don Dailey	Faculty, CoSTEM	Biology	2018-2021
Jerry D. Plummer	Faculty, CoB	Accounting, Finance, and Economics	2019-2021
Tim Wesley	Faculty, CoAL	History and Philosophy	2018-2021
Christopher Wright	Faculty, CoBHS	Criminal Justice	2019-2022
Thomas J. Buttery	Faculty, CoE	Education Specialties	2019-2022
John Schnettler	Faculty, at Large, Director of Athletic Band	Music	ex officio
Teonna Jewell	Women's Basketball	Athletics	2020-2021
David Davenport	Staff, Student Affairs	Foy Fitness and Recreation	2019-2021
Shanon Manly	Staff, Finance and Administration	Student Account Services	2019-2021
Sara Newton	Staff, Finance and Administration	Campus Polics	2020-2021
Gerald Harrison	Staff, Athletic Director	Athletics	Ex officio
Lisa Varytimidis	Staff, Senior Woman Administrator	Athletics	ex officio
Sheila Bryant	Staff, Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action	Director, EOAA	2019-2021
Gino Avros	Student by Dir AAS	Student Representative	2019-2021
Carlos Paez	Student by Dir AAS	Student Representative	2020-2021
Fabienne Schmidt	Student by Dir AAS	Student Representative	2019-2021
Mikaela Smith	Student by Dir AAS	Student Representative	2019-2021