UNIVERSITY TENURE AND PROMOTION APPEALS BOARD – appoint members for this committee when doing standing committees in the fall

The responsibility of the University Retention, Tenure, and Promotion Appeals Board is to review appeals of faculty members who have received negative recommendations concerning their applications for retention, tenure, or promotion. A principal responsibility of Austin Peay State University is to recruit and retain highly qualified faculty within its means, and to that end, the institution shall discharge these responsibilities by adhering to the highest standards of fairness and due diligence. The Appeals Board is also charged with upholding the policies of Austin Peay State University while simultaneously protecting academic freedom and safeguarding individual faculty members from arbitrary decisions. Appeals should be resolved in the most expeditious manner as possible and be consistent with the RTP Appeals Board objectives listed in the RTP P&G document.

Please see the APSU Retention, Tenure, and Promotion Procedures and Guidelines for detailed information regarding the

2022-2023 Membership

UNIVERSITY TENURE and PROMOTION APPEALS BOARD

Faculty Name	College	Department	Service
Karen Meisch, Chair	Dean, CoSTEM	Dean – non-voting	2020-2021
David Denton	Faculty, CoBHS	Appointed by Provost	2020-2021
Tim Leszczak	Faculty, CoBHS	Faculty Senate Representative	2020-2021
John Steinberg	Faculty, CoAL	History and Philosophy	2020-2021
Kathy Lee Heuston	Faculty, CoAL	Communication	2020-2021
Kevin Harris	Faculty, CoBHS	Psychological Science and Counseling	2020-2021
Debbie Ellison	Faculty, CoBHS	Nursing	2020-2021
Susan Cockrell	Faculty, CoB	Accounting, Finance, and Economics	2020-2021
Vikkie McCarthy	Faculty, CoB	Management and Marketing	2020-2021
Moniqueka Gold	Faculty, CoE	Teaching and Learning	2020-2021
Anne Wall	Faculty, CoE	Educational Specialties	2020-2021
Jiang Li	Faculty, CoSTEM	Physics, Engineering, and Astronomy	2020-2021
Christina Chester-Fangman	Faculty, Library	Library Administration	2020-2021
Gina Garber	Library	Library Administration	2020-2021