# Austin Peay State University Faculty Senate Meeting of Thursday, May 5, 2011 University Center, UC 307 3:00pm

**Call to order** – Senate President David Major Recognition of Guests: None

**Roll call of Senators –** Senate President David Major. Absent Senators: Bonnington, Buchanan, Deitrich, Frentzos, Frederick, Gray, Jones, Lewis, Lowrance, Matthews, Meyer, Nelson, Ntatin, Rayburn, Salama, Schlanger, Shea, Truhon, White-Major.

Today's agenda approved.

Minutes for meeting of April 28, 2011 approved.

### Remarks

- 1. Senate President David Major
  - Senate President Major thanked the outgoing senators and new senators. He also thanked the Executive Committee members for 2010-11 and presented each with a plaque acknowledging their service.
- 2. University President Dr. Tim Hall
  - President Hall stated he enjoyed working with Senate President Major and the Executive Committee.
  - Compensation: TBR staff propose an additional 1.4% raise (in addition to the 1.6% proposed by the governor) for a total 3% cost of living allowance (COLA).
     Institutions may add up to 2% toward implementing their equity plan and may also grant bonuses up to \$500 per employee. If approved the COLA will be effective July 1, with the other 2% effective October 1, but retroactive to July 1.
  - President Hall stated he was distressed that this "across-the-board" approach
    perpetuates existing inequities in compensation among universities. It is also
    contrary to the philosophy behind the new performance-based funding formula,
    under which APSU is the university benefitting the most.
- 3. Provost Dr. Tristan Denley
  - Provost Denley congratulated Dr. Matt Kenney upon becoming the Director of PELP and Dr. Linda Barnes on becoming the Director of the Honors Program. He also expects to be able to announce the new Dean of the College of Arts and Letters soon.
  - APSU will have its largest graduating class ever at spring commencement with nearly 1000 graduates. Included will be the Chemical Engineering Technology program's first graduates.

## **Old Business**

• Staff Award – Dr. Dixie Webb – Information item

- The Faculty Senate Staff Award was presented to Deborah Shearon,
   Administrative Assistant 3 to the Dean of COAL. Her service to the university and personal assistance to students was commended.
- Academic Council Election Results Vice President Jack Deibert Information item
  - Matt Jones (CoSM), Sue Evans (School of Technology and Public Management), and Karen Sorenson (CoAL) were elected to serve in their respective areas.

### **New Business**

Before the Action Item below was taken up, Senator Elaine Berg (on behalf of Lori Buchanan, immediate-past president of Faculty Senate) acknowledged David Major for his service as Senate President.

- Election of Executive Committee for Academic Year 2011–12 Senator Tim Winters –
   Action Item
  - The Nominations Committee presented the following slate of senate officers for 2011-2012:

President - Jack Deibert,

Vice President – Elaine Berg,

Secretary – Patrick Perdew,

Academic Council Representative - Carrie Brennan,

Deans Council Representative – Loretta Griffy,

Member-At-Large – Jordy Rocheleau, and

TBR Faculty Sub-council Representative – David Kanervo.

- o Motion to elect these officers. When called for, no other nominations given.
- Motion approved.

Outgoing Senate President David Major passed the gavel to incoming Senate President Jack Deibert. Senate President Jack Deibert remarked that during dark days on campus several years ago he was able to go to past Senate Presidents John Foote and Tim Winters with concerns. He expressed his desire to also be a Senate President that concerned faculty could go to and get results.

- Senate President Jack Deibert stated that the Senate Constitution calls for summer meetings.
  - Motion to suspend summer meetings unless called for in special circumstances.
  - Motion approved.

# Meeting adjourned at 3:40 p.m.

Patrick Perdew, Faculty Senate Secretary