Austin Peay State University Faculty Senate Meeting Tentative Minutes Thursday, March 22, 2001 3:30-4:46 Gentry Auditorium

Roll Call: John Blake, Roger Clark, Jim Diehr, Margaret Duffy, Gloria Gharavi, R. Gildrie, Rebecca Glass, Bud Glunt, Fred Grieve, Shirley Hagewood, Kay Haralson, Deirdre Jackson, Phil Kemmerly, Ramon Magrans, Bruce Myers, Robert Robison, Pete Stoddard, Cindy Taylor, Jaime Taylor, Jim Thompson, Linda Thompson, David Till, Howard Winn, Greg Zieren..

Call to Order:

Roll Call

Agenda approved

Minutes approved

Announcements::

President Hoppe

1. Compensation Committee being appointed and a draft proposal for developing a new compensation study given to Senate. TBR schedules largely determine rate of implementation.

2. E-mail statement developed.

Vice President Rudolph

1. Described process for studying the liberal arts core

2. Announced opening of negotiations on a common academic calendar for MTSU, TSU and APSU, according to Geier Stipulation.

Vice President Robinson (Finance and administration)

1. Discussed distribution of TAFF funds and implementation of new guidelines. Derosia Black is chair of committee. To date, as far as he knows, every proposal has been approved.

Senate President Jim Diehr

1. Communication for ETSU Faculty Senate on "Lump Sum withdrawals" from retirement accounts referred to Senators Winn and Kemmerly.

Old Business

1. Resolutions on Standing Committee passed unanimously, subject to modifications of wording suggested by senators and processed by Senator Hagewood. To be considered, if necessary, at next meeting.

New Business

1. On problems of acquiring classroom furniture.

Committee Reports See above on standing committees

Adjournment at 4:36