Austin Peay State University Faculty Senate Called Meeting of Thursday, 30 April 2020 On-line Zoom meeting | 3:00 pm

## Minutes

Call to Order – Senate President Rod Mills

Recognition of Guests: Vicky McCarthy, Rob Baron, Terry Higdon, Adam Attwood, Ramanjit Sahi, Beatrix Brockman, Christina Chester-Fangman, Gina Garber, Maria C. Stewart, Paula White, Timothy Catalano, Leong Lee, Marcia Shilling, Misty Ring-Ramirez, Perry Scanlan, Jane Semler, Ken Faber, Amanda Patrick, Saeid Samadidana, Sumen Sen, Jennifer Cox, Notashia Crenshaw,

Remarks – President Rod Mills Roll call of Senators – Done electronically

Absent: Pam Gray, Matthew Hale, Kristen Hershey, Omie Shepherd, Jeffrey Thompson, Jennifer Thompson,

Approval of today's agenda – Approved

Approval of minutes from 23 April 2020 meeting

Retention, Tenure, Promotion Committee – Elaine Berg:

- 1:025 Outline of changes to Tenure Policy, including clarification of language
- Motion to amend to include an example is rejected 7 for, 34 against, 1 abstention
- Motion to accept as originally proposed passes 42 for, 0 against, 1 abstention
- Policy and Procedures –
- Motion to remove unnecessary passage from procedures and guidelines on pp 31-32 passes 32 for, 11 against, 2 abstentions
- Motion to approve document as amended passes 43 for, 2 against, 1 abstention

Handbook Revisions – Vickkie McCarthy:

- Motion to remove language regarding FA/FN from Handbook as deemed to be inappropriate placement for policy passes 39 for, 4 against, 2 abstentions
- Motion to add link to policy regarding credit hours passes 43 for, 1 against, 1 abstention
- Motion to add link to student learning outcomes passes 42 for, 0 against, 2 abstentions
- Motion to accept revisions to the table of contents passes 43 for, 0 against, 1 abstention
- Motion to approve editorial changes passes 40 for, 1 against. 1 abstention

Notification of voting procedures for Senate Executive Committee Officers - Rod Mills

• Motion to approve passes unanimously

Notification of ballot of all nominees – Sally Schiller

- President: Sergei Markov, Christine Mathenge, David Rands
- Vice President: Jane Semler
- Secretary: Soma Banerjee, Beatrix Brockman
- Treasurer: Tatsushi Hirono, Michelle Robertson, Perry Scanlan

- University Curriculum Committee Representative: Kathy Heuston, Tracy Nichols
- Member at Large: Bobette Bouton, Tim Leszczak

Further nominations will be accepted via email through 03 May, and also from the floor at the 07 May meeting.

Motion to adjourn was supported online vote Meeting adjourned