[39.] University Animal Care and Use Committee

Membership: (Per APSU Policy 2:007 Research involving Animals) 6 Faculty (including one non-scientist), 1 Student, 1 Community Representative not affiliated with APSU, 1 veterinarian, 2 ex officio (assistant director of safety environ comp; director of research and sponsored programs) Faculty committee members (with the exception of the non-scientist faculty) should represent the departments currently conducting animal-based research. Terms and appointment to the IACUC shall be for three years, with appointments staggered to insure continuity of membership. Any member whose knowledge or expertise is critical to the committee's work may serve multiple, consecutive terms.

Description: The committee has the responsibility for ensuring that Austin Peay is in compliance with the requirements of the Federal Animal Welfare Act (7 U.S.C. 2131 et seq.) and its amendments, the PHS Policy on the Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals, and other Federal statutes and regulations relating to animals.

(Approver: Provost/SVPAA)

2021-2022 Membership:

Name	Area	Department	Service Term
Stefan Woltmann, Chair	Faculty, CoSTEM	Biology	2013-2024 **
Anthony Morris	Faculty, CoAL	Art & Design, Non Scientist	2021-2024
Jane Semler	Faculty, CoSTEM	Allied Health Sciences	2019-2022**
Rodney Mills	Faculty, CoSTEM	Agriculture	2012-2022**
Brian Hock	Faculty, CoBHS	Psychology	2012-2022**
Gilbert Pitts	Faculty, CoSTEM	Biology	2012-2024**
Ana Pla Rosario	Student Affairs	aplarosario@my.apsu.edu	2021-2022
Christina Webb	Vet. CoSTEM	Veterinarian	2013-2022**
Laura Coleman	Community Rep	drlaura4kids@gmail.com	2018-2022**
John Johnson	Staff	Educational Opportunity Center	ex officio
Carl Gerhold	Finance and	Dir. Safety Environmental Compliance	ex officio
	Administration		

^{*}Service Term is September through August

NOTES:

• Don Dailey, Don Sudbrink, and Nicole Knickmeyer all stated that their current representatives are the only ones qualified to serve on this committee.

^{**}Time served restrictions may be waived in the case of any member whose knowledge/expertise is critical to the committee's work.