Institutional Review Board

Membership: 6 faculty members. 1 from each college and Library, plus one at large member, 1 student, and 2 *ex officio* (community representative and Associate Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies). The Associate Provost and Dean of the College of Graduate Studies or his or her designee will serve as chair. There are no limits on reappointment.

Description: The committee is responsible for implementation and enforcement of federal laws and regulations governing human research as well as APSU Policy 2:002, Research Involving Human Subjects. APSU's agreement with the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Human Subjects Protection requires that APSU policy apply to all research involving human subjects, and all other activities which, even in part, involve such research, regardless of sponsorship, if one or more of the following apply:

- 1. The research is sponsored by this institution; or
- 2. The research is conducted by or under the direction of any employee or agent of the institution in connection with his or her institutional responsibilities; or
- 3. The research is conducted by or under the direction of any employee or agent of this institution using any property or facility of this institution; or
- 4. The research involves the use of this institution's non-public information to identify or contact human research subjects or prospective subjects.

The committee reviews and approves all planned/proposed research, development, and related activities involving human subjects to ensure that applicable federal laws and regulations protecting humans who volunteer to serve as research participants. APSU policy requires all research protocols involving human subjects to be reviewed whether or not such research is considered exempt under federal regulations. No research at Austin Peay is exempt from the review and approval policies and procedures.

Members of the board are appointed for three-year renewable terms. There are no limits on reappointment.

(Approver: Provost/SVPAA)

2022-2023 Membership:

Name of Faculty	Area	Department	Service Term
Harold Young, Chair	Dean Designee	Political Science and Public Management	2019-2023
Chad Brooks	CoGS Dean	Associate Provost/Dean, Graduate Studies	Ex officio
Lisa Lewis	Faculty, CoBHS	Health & Human Performance	2020-2023
Laura Barnett	Faculty, CoE	Educational Specialties	2020-2023
Heather L. Phillips	Faculty – at Large	Allied Health Sciences	2022-2025
Brandon Di Paolo	Faculty, CoB	Accounting, Economics, and Finance	2020-2023
Harrison			
Christina Hicks-Goldston	Faculty, CoAL	Communication	2020-2023
Robin Reed	Faculty, CoSTEM	Chemistry	2021-2024
Christopher Ross Brown	Library	Library	2021-2024
Ryan Pitts	Community Rep	Clarksville, Tennessee	ex officio
Wyatt (Drake) Harris	Student, CoGS	Graduate Student Representative	2022-2023