[20.] Intellectual Property and Commercialization Committee (<u>Temporarily suspend appointment based on previous inactivity</u>)

Membership: (to include individuals with experience in intellectual property matters): 2 staff members, at least 4 faculty members (representing diverse disciplines) 3 ex officio members (executive director of research and sponsored programs, university attorney, and member from information technology. Members will serve a three-year term and can serve two consecutive terms. When consecutive terms have been served, a three-year break must occur before serving again.

Description: The purpose of this committee is to serve the intellectual property (IP) interests of APSU, its personnel (either full-time, part-time, or temporary employees), its enrolled students, and any other persons using APSU facilities and resources. To fulfill this purpose, the committee will evaluate and/or research information and statements submitted to the committee by employees to determine if the IP was either derived from work supported by or through the institution or involved a significant use of the institution's resources. The committee submits to the President its recommendation relative to:

- 1. the ownership of the intellectual property,
- 2. the need to seek protection (including patent and copyright),
- 3. the distribution and assignment of royalties,
- 4. the acceptance of related third-party agreements,
- 5. commercialization of the intellectual property, and
- 6. any deviation of APSU Policy 2:047 as appropriate to the situation or circumstances surrounding the intellectual property.

(Approver: Provost/SVPAA)

2021-2022 Membership:

Name	Area	Department	Service Term
Chad Brooks, Chair	Dean, CoGS	Director, Research and Sponsored Programs	ex officio
Corey Harkey	Legal Affairs	University Attorney	ex officio
Austin Siders	Information Technology	Director of Enterprise Application & Solutions	ex officio
Ajay Thompson	Staff, Academic Affairs	Student Success	2021-2024
JJ White	Staff, Academic Affairs	Biology	2021-2024
Alex King	Faculty, COSTEM	Physics	2021-2024
Darren Michael	Faculty, CoAL	Theatre and Dance	2021-2024
Leslie Binford	Faculty, CoBHS	Nursing	2021-2024
Thomas O'Connor	Faculty, CoBHS	Criminal Justice	2019-2022
Hassan A. Said	Faculty, CoB	Accounting, Finance, and Economics	2019-2022

*Appointment is September through August