General Education Standing Committee

Membership: All 11 members of the committee will be appointed by the provost (in compliance with the Tennessee Board of Regents critical competencies mandate) in consultation with the deans council and faculty senate president. The following positions will be for three years each; however, the first appointment to the committee (which began 2007-2008) will consist of one-third for two years, one-third for three years and one-third for four years. When members with initial appointment for two years and members with initial appointments for four years finish their terms of service, all further appointments will be for three years. A committee member can serve no more than two consecutive terms of services without a three-year break before serving on the committee again. Membership includes 4 faculty from the college of arts and letters, three of whom must be from written and oral communication disciplines; 2 faculty from the college of science and math, ensuring that one faculty member will be from the math department; 2 faculty from the college of behavioral and health sciences; 1 faculty from college of business; 1 faculty from college of education; and 1 faculty member from the Center at Fort Campbell. One of these members will be a dean from one of the three academic colleges and will serve as committee chair.

2009-2010 Membership

Name	Area	Department	Service Term
Dixie Webb – chair	Dean	CoAL	2009-2010
Willodean Burton	Faculty		2009-2010
Greg Zieren	Faculty, CoAL	History and Philosophy	2009-2010
David Von Palko	Faculty, CoAL	Communication	2009-2010
Buddy Grah	Faculty, CoBHS	Psychology	2009-2010
David Major	Faculty, CoAL	Languages and Literature	2009-2010
Vikki McCarthy	Faculty, FC	Professional Studies	2009-2010
Leonard Lindsay	Faculty		2009-2010
Nell Rayburn	Faculty, CoSM	Mathematics	2009-2010
Joe Jerles	Faculty, CoE	Education	2009-2010
K.J. Kim	Faculty		2009-2010