University Animal Care and Use Committee

Membership: (Per APSU Policy 2:007 Research involving Animals) 6 Faculty (including one non-scientist), 1 Student, 1 Community Representative not affiliated with APSU, 1 veterinarian, 2 ex officio (assistant director of safety environ comp; director of research and sponsored programs) Faculty committee members (with the exception of the non-scientist faculty) should represent the departments currently conducting animal-based research. Terms and appointment to the IACUC shall be for three years, with appointments staggered to insure continuity of membership. Any member whose knowledge or expertise is critical to the committee's work may serve multiple, consecutive terms.

Description: The committee has the responsibility for ensuring that Austin Peay is in compliance with the requirements of the Federal Animal Welfare Act (7 U.S.C. 2131 et seq.) and its amendments, the PHS Policy on the Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals, and other Federal statutes and regulations relating to animals.

(Approver: Provost/SVPAA)

2022-2023 Membership

Name	Area	Department	Service Term
Stefan Woltmann, Chair	Faculty, CoSTEM	Biology	2013-2024**
Anthony Morris	Faculty, CoAL	Art and Design, Non Scientist	2021-2024
Jane Semler	Faculty, CoSTEM	Allied Health Sciences	2019-2023**
Brian Hock	Faculty, CoBHS	Psychological Science and Counseling	2012-2023**
Gilbert Pitts	Faculty, CoSTEM	Biology	2012-2024**
Isaac Sitienei	Faculty, CoSTEM	Agriculture	2022-2025
Christina Galben Webb	Vet. CoSTEM	Veterinarian	2013-2023**
Laura Coleman	Community Rep	drlaura4kids@gmail.com	2018-2023**
Chad Brooks	Staff	Research and Sponsored Programs	ex officio
Carl Gerhold	Finance and Administration	Dir. Safety Environmental Compliance	ex officio